First, a song

December 18, 2006 at 7:35 am Leave a comment

I’ve been thinking about writing all day, while I’ve been driving from LA to NYC. I drove from Reno, NV to Salt Lake City, much less than I’d hoped to… about half. First, this is one that I wrote and it got kind of lyrical and i was humming so I made it a song. I can’t convey the melody to you, so come up with your own.

It’s Just a Feeling

Fifteen miles outside of Salt Lake City
and I haven’t got a care.
The road in front of me is the same
as it has been everywhere.
And I know that it’s just a feeling,
but the telephone poles look like crosses,
over lives thrown out windows
that everyone tosses.

Three hundred miles from Reno,
and I’m starting to get sore,
from two days of driving North,
and looking at two more.
I won’t make it to Cheyenne,
I’ll have to blow on by,
if I wanna reach New York City
before the first day of July.

Feeling lonely is a useless feeling
Stealing thoughts while you are stearing home.
Getting lost on all roads East,
Betting I won’t be there until at least… July.

Forty miles from stormy weather
I don’t have chains on my tires.
Seeing Utah in a snow storm
leaves something to be desired.
And I know that it’s just a feeling
that I have to make it by  sunset
But I know that it won’t happen,
cause it hasn’t happened yet.

Feeling lonely is a useless feeling
Stealing thoughts while you are stearing home.
Getting lost on all roads East,
Betting I won’t be there until at least… July.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

this poem is a pallendrom And secondly…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

